7 Types of Single Mode Optical Fiber You Need to Know

Optical fiber can be classified in various ways based on characteristics such as mode of light, refractive index, and ITU standards.
optical fiber factory
Table of Contents

Optical fiber can be classified in various ways based on characteristics such as mode of light, refractive index, and ITU standards.

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) has developed a set of standards for optical fibers called the G standards.

According to these standards, singlemode fibers are divided into seven categories, with G.652 and G.657 being the most commonly used.

ITU Standard Optical Fibers

  • G.651 fiber (multimode graded-index fiber): Ideal for short-distance transmissions in local area networks and FTTH environments.
  • G.652 (dispersion-unshifted single-mode fiber): The most widely used single-mode fiber, suitable for various applications.
  • G.653 (dispersion-shifted fiber): Once used for long-distance single-channel optical communication systems, now mostly replaced by G.655.
  • G.654 (cutoff wavelength-shifted fiber): Offers the lowest attenuation coefficient at 1550nm, used for long-distance transmission.
  • G.655 (non-zero dispersion-shifted fiber): An improved version of dispersion shifted fiber, now largely replaced by G.652.D.
  • G.656 (low slope non-zero dispersion-shifted fiber): Designed for DWDM systems with strict requirements for dispersion speed.
  • G.657 (bend-insensitive fiber): Perfect for FTTH applications, offering excellent performance under bending conditions.

By offering a wide range of high-quality optical fibers, we cater to the needs of small telecom operators and fiber product distributors.

Our fiber optic cables design to meet your specific requirements and ensure optimal performance.

Fiber TypeWavelength (nm)Max Attenuation Coefficient (dB/km)Bandwidth (MHz-km with overfilled launch)
50/125 (OM2, OM3, OM4)8503.5500 (OM2), 2000 (OM3),
3500 (OM4)
62.5/125 (OM1)8503.5160
Singlemode (OS1, OS2)(Premises)13101.0NA
Singlemode (OS1, OS2)(Outside Plant)13100.5NA

Choose the right optical fiber for your needs

To help you find the perfect fiber for your network, we’ve summarized the key features of each ITU standard fiber:

  • G.651 fiber: Cost-effective for short-distance transmissions up to 500 meters.
  • G.652 fiber: Available in four types (A, B, C, and D) with different PMD values and properties.
  • G.653 fiber: No longer widely used due to noise-induced nonlinear effects.
  • G.654 fiber: Ideal for long distances, with the lowest attenuation coefficient at 1550nm.
  • G.655 fiber: Suppressed four-wave mixing, but now mostly replaced by G.652.D.
  • G.656 fiber: Ensures transmission performance over a wider wavelength range in DWDM systems.
  • G.657 fiber: Offers a minimum bend radius of 5-10mm and superior performance in FTTH applications.

Rely on our expertise to find the best optical fiber solution for your business. Our range of ITU standard fibers ensures your network’s performance meets your expectations.

Contact us today to discuss your requirements and discover the perfect fiber for your needs.

Get A Quick Quote

We will respond within 12 hours, please pay attention to the email with the suffix “”

Also, you can go to the Contact Page, which provides a more detailed form.